Mama Life, Parenting

The Mama Tag

IMG_4205

Hey lovelies! So I’ve got a mama tag for you today! I’ve never done one of these so I’m slyly doing an excited jig whilst in my office chair… saddo I know. The wonderful Claire tagged me from ‘Dear, Mummy Bear‘ and I can’t wait to get started! So here we go:

HOW OLD WERE YOU WHEN YOU HAD YOUR FIRST CHILD?

I was 19 when I had Jax (almost 20). He was born 25.09.13 and my birthday is 08.11.93!

WHAT WAS THE HARDEST THING ABOUT BEING PREGNANT FOR 9 MONTHS?

Du know what? I don’t know. I really embraced being pregnant and actually really enjoyed it! Probably the fact I couldn’t sleep on my front? Which was my go-to position back then.

CAN YOU THINK OF ANY GOOD THINGS YOU ENJOYED DURING THOSE 9 MONTHS?

I remember just feeling really proud that I was keeping him alive. Nobody else. Just me. Seeing him move always made me giggle, but towards the end it got a bit weird when I could see his whole hand or foot stick out my belly hahah. I also loved checking the baby apps and comparing him to a fruit/vegetable (who comes up with these things lol).

IN YOUR OPINION, WERE ALL OF THE THINGS YOU HEARD ABOUT CHILDBIRTH ACCURATE OR WAY OFF?

I suppose I’d heard a mixed bag of things; I had a lot of people with babies around me and also did the NCT antenatal classes which were very informative. At the very least that is a total truth – it hurts hahaha.

WOULD YOU HAVE HANDLED CHILDBIRTH DIFFERENTLY IF YOU COULD RE-DO IT?

Absolutely no way. A lot of people find it hard to believe but I actually didn’t mind childbirth. I thought it was amazing. Apart from the midwives admitting they should’ve broken my waters sooner (which would mean my labour would’ve been shorter), I wouldn’t change a thing. I had an amazing water-birth, Jax’s dad was in the pool with me and helped deliver him, we had music and candles. It was perfect and the best moment of my life.

WHAT WOULD BE YOUR ADVICE FOR SOMEONE WHO IS ABOUT TO HAVE A BABY?

Just relax. No amount of reading, watching and researching can change nature. Don’t be scared – be excited. I truly believe having a positive mindset helps the labour for the better. Another one would be; don’t write a birth plan. Maybe have something vague in place, but the midwives don’t read it when you’re in labour, and things can change quickly. I feel like if you have a birth plan you’re living by, and something changes or doesn’t go to plan, you’re going to feel worse. So just have a loose plan, know that things could change and have an open mind. Happy you, happy baby. Calm you, calm baby.

WHAT HAS BEEN THE HARDEST THING ABOUT BEING A MUM?

Errrrrrrm. This is a hard one actually because I’ve always thought its been easier than I thought it’d be. Even being a single parent has been easier than I thought it would be (so far!) The hardest thing I guess, for me, was accepting Jax’s dad didn’t want me anymore. And accepting that my family was broken was such a hard pill to swallow. All I’ve ever wanted for my kids is for them to have a loving, together family. And when his dad ended things, the guilt I felt for not being able to give that to Jax crippled me. (You do get over this in time though, I promise).

WHAT HAS BEEN THE MOST REWARDING THING ABOUT BEING A MUM?

Probably knowing I’ve done a lot of it on my own? I’m really proud of that. Whenever people comment on how polite/lovely/amazing he is I feel all fuzzy knowing its down to me (pretty much). I feel like before I had Jax, I was quite lost. Since being a mum I’ve realised its one of the only things I can do really well. Obviously I have bad days but on the whole I know I’ve done a good job so far and I always will. Also seeing him out in public chatting to anyone and generally being lovely. And when he tells me he loves me or how beautiful I am without being prompted.

WHAT WAS THE MOST SURPRISING THING YOU DISCOVERED ABOUT BEING A MUM?

Being a young mum, I thought I’d get a lot of horrible comments, be excluded from mums at baby groups etc, and generally be stereotyped because thats what the world loves to do. Despite having a couple of random people make comments, on the whole, everyone has been so so lovely and positive. Whenever I breastfed in public, I’d have old ladies coming up to me saying how amazing I am, or smiling at me. I have many mummy friends; some are my age but a lot are closer to my mums age and we’re like best friends. There’s been no discrimination at all and although surprising, it’s been amazing.

WHAT IS THE BEST MEMORY YOU HAVE INVOLVING YOUR CHILD?

Probably giving birth to him? Seeing his dad and the midwife pull him from the water, and touching him for the first time and realising he was real, was just insane. I kept touching his lips and hands like “oh my god I grew you, you’re a real human”. I felt like I was in the happiest bubble on another planet. We sat in the pool for a while so we could do delayed clamping and we were just so happy, smiling, laughing and stroking him. Most precious memory ever.

WHAT WAS THE MOST EXCITING MILESTONE?

All of them I guess? You always encourage your kids to do the ‘next thing’, but when they do you’re like omg stop growing up so fast.

WHAT IS THE WORST THING YOUR CHILD HAS EVER DONE?

Anyone who knows me and Jax will know this is super hard to answer hahah. Errrrrrm. I literally don’t know? Touch wood he stays a good boy hahah.

WHAT HABIT DO YOU WISH YOUR CHILD DIDN’T HAVE?

Being so set in his ways (thanks Jax’s dad). Once he’s made his mind up, there’s literally no changing his mind. You could argue all day and not get anywhere, so yeah, that haha.

WHAT HABIT OF THEIR MAKES YOU MOST PROUD?

Just how polite and confident he is with strangers when we’re out and about. Especially the old ladies, he’ll just go and sit down next to them and start chatting. Makes my heart feel like its going to explode.

DO YOU SHARE ANY SIMILARITIES WITH YOUR CHILD? (BOTH PHYSICAL AND PERSONALITY?)

I think Jax has my eyes and my lips. Everyone that knows me and his dad always says he’s the spitting image of his dad. But people who don’t know his dad say he looks like me! Jax and I both love meeting people and getting outdoors.

WHERE WOULD YOU LIKE YOUR CHILD TO BE IN 10 YEARS?

OMG thinking about him being almost 15 makes my skin crawl. But hopefully being a really happy, lovely child like he is now. Obviously it’d be good if he was doing well in school, but as long as he’s happy doing whatever he’s doing, I’m happy. I’d also like him to be able to come to me with anything he has on his mind, like he does now.

IS THERE SOMETHING THAT HAVING A CHILD HAS TAUGHT YOU?

There’s waaaaaay more to life/life is too short. Yeah its nice to have materialistic things, but life is nothing without family. He is my world, my best friend and my little buddy. All I want from life is for Jax and I to be happy, have a lovely home, and be making the most amazing memories. Spending time together, seeing the world, playing duplo indoors. Whatever it is. Him and life is so special. Every day is a blessing.

DID YOU IMAGINE YOU’D BECOME A MUM AT THE AGE YOU BECAME A MUM?

Not at all. I never really had a plan, and like I said, I was a bit lost before I had Jax. But everything happens for a reason and I wouldn’t change anything. Deciding to go ahead with my pregnancy was the best decision I’ve ever made.

DESCRIBE YOUR CHILD IN ONE SENTENCE.

Hilarious, kind, loving, gentle, clever, amazing, inquisitive, and downright cool human <3

___________

I’ve loved answering these questions and completing this tag. Thank you Claire! I tag these wonderful mamas to also do this on their blogs: Emily, Amelia, Laura, Georgina, Rachael and Jade. Can’t wait to read yours lovely ladies!

 

Thank you for reading beautifuls, love Jeorgia xxx

INSTAGRAM | YOUTUBE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | PINTEREST | BLOGLOVIN

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment